Why are you closing the service?
As part of our ongoing evolution of our business we have decided to close the Truphone app and focus on innovation of new mobile services.
When are you closing the service?
The app service will be terminated at 12:00 GMT on Monday 21st November 2016.
How are you closing the service?
Over the next few weeks we will be stopping a number of features as we gradually close off the service:
- As of Thursday 22nd September 2016, you can no longer buy bundles of minutes or Truphone numbers
- On Friday 7th October 2016 top-ups will no longer be available
- On Monday 21st November 2016 the App will be switched off, and voice calls and texts messages will no longer be available
- On Wednesday 21st December 2016 Customer service and support for all the app customers will be discontinued
Are any other Truphone services affected?
No. We will continue to provide our global mobile service to both the pre-paid consumer SIM & the enterprise SIM.
How long do I have to find an alternative provider?
The service will terminate on Monday 21st November 2016 and can be used up to this date, but make sure you have enough credit as top ups will cease on Friday 7th October 2016.
App Download & Account Creation
Will I still be able to download the app?
Yes. You will be able to download the App for 60 days and we would encourage you to do so and use up any remaining credit before we terminate the service on Monday 21st November 2016.
Will I be able to create a new account?
No. Creation of new accounts has been ceased our support teams will be focused on supporting our active customers.
Balances & Top Ups
Can I still top up to use the service until Monday 21st November 2016?
Top ups will be available until Friday 7th October 2016 on which day the manual & auto top up functionality will be removed.
Will my auto top up still work?
Auto top ups will continue to work until Friday 7th October 2016 on which day the manual & auto top up functionality will be removed, and auto top up activated on existing accounts will cease.
Can I still purchase minute or minute & number bundles?
Yes, these products will be available in the website until Friday 7th October 2016, however the Truphone number and any unused minutes will be terminated on Monday 21st November 2016. There will be clear messaging in the Truphone store to this affect.
Will I be able to carry on with my Truphone Unlimited subscription?
Yes. Your Truphone Unlimited bundle will continue as normal until Monday 21st November 2016 when it will terminate.
I have purchased a minute or minute & number bundle, what will happen to unused minutes?
Your Truphone number and any unused minutes will be terminated on Monday 21st November 2016. We recognise that for some of our customers, subscriptions will not expire within the next 60 days and we will write to those customers directly to offer all the necessary support needed during this process.
Can I get my credit balance refunded?
Truphone will provide refunds for credit balances over £5.00 (or equivalent), balances less than £5.00 will not be refunded due to administration costs.
In order to process your refund you will need to:
Email customer service at email@example.com from the email address registered to your account;
Clearly state your username and confirm the total balance to be refunded;
Your balance will be refunded to the most recently used payment card on your account within 30 days.
Important: Please ensure you have an up to date card registered on your account, if not please update your card by making a top up, any credit added can be refunded.
Will my Truphone number still work?
Your Truphone number will continue to work as normal until Monday 21st November 2016 when it will terminate.
Can I still purchase a Truphone number?
Numbers are no longer available to purchase in My Account.
My Truphone Settings & Accounts
What will happen to any personal information you have stored on your system?
We will need to hold all personal information for a period of 12 months following the termination of service. Following this 12-month period this personal data will be securely destroyed. Please be assured that all personal data is held strictly in compliance with applicable data protection laws and regulations.
What will happen to my chat/text conversations and history?
This history will be securely deleted on termination of the service on Monday 21st November 2016.
Removing the App
If I delete the Truphone App will I lose my contacts added through it?
The contacts added through the app are stored in your contact folder in your device and will not be lost on deleting the app.
I have allowed the Truphone App to access my contacts can Truphone access these?
No. The Truphone App requests access to your contacts so they can be seen, contacted, edited & added to through the app. This is done locally on your device and Truphone has no visibility of this.
I have allowed the Truphone App to access my microphone will this remain enabled?
No. Access to the microphone is only enabled by the Truphone app when making or receiving a call.